City Commission

The City of Cocoa Beach has a City Commission - City Manager form of government, agreed on by the citizens on June 19, 1958. The City Commission is the legislative branch of City Government and is responsible for enacting policy. The City Manager administers policy as the executive officer of the city.

Five Commission members, one of which is the Mayor, are elected at-large by the voters of Cocoa Beach to serve for a four-year term. The Mayor presides at all meetings and performs duties delegated to the Mayor by the City Charter and City Commission. The Vice-Mayor is elected yearly by the City Commission at the annual organizational meeting, held after an election.

City Commission meetings:

  • are on the first and third Thursday of each month, at 7:00 p.m.
  • held at Cocoa Beach Country Club, 5000 Tom Warriner Blvd, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
  • are open to the public.

For Agenda items:

  • to submit an item for the agenda, complete the online form and submit to the City Manager’s office by 2:00 pm, Tuesday the week prior to the Meeting, or
  • to speak on agenda items, complete a speaker card

Meet Our Cocoa Beach City Commission

Mayor Ben Malik, Seat 1 (Term expires November 2024)

Email Mayor Ben Malik
Elected as Mayor in 2016, Ben Malik is originally from Boca Raton, Florida, but has called Cocoa Beach home since 2007. He graduated from the University of Florida with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration and went on to receive his Masters in Business Administration. Currently, the Mayor works for a community bank as a Vice President/Area Relationship Manager. Mayor Malik is also a proud husband and father of two. 

Commissioner Tim Tumulty, Seat 2 (Term expires November 2022)

Email Commissioner Tumulty

Commissioner Karalyn Woulas, Seat 3 (Term expires November 2024) 

Email Commissioner Karalyn Woulas
Elected as Commissioner in 2016, Karalyn Woulas has been a resident of Cocoa Beach since 2008. She holds a Bachelor’s of Science in Aerospace Engineering, a Bachelor’s in Applied Mathematics from the Florida Institute of Technology and a Master’s Degree in Project Management from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. Currently, she is employed as a Range Safety Engineer at the Forty-Fifth Space Wing (United States Space Force). In her spare time she manages two musical bands as the lead singer and guitar player. Her interests lie in improving the City and preserving the small town lifestyle, while nurturing opportunities to moderately redevelop aging infrastructure found in the City,   in order to maintain the lifestyle that we as citizens of Cocoa Beach live for today.

Commissioner Skip Williams, Seat 4 (Term expires November 2022) 

Email Commissioner Skip Williams
Elected as Commissioner in 2007, Skip Williams is originally from Indian River County, Florida and has been a resident of Cocoa Beach since 1986. He holds a Mechanical Engineering Degree from the Florida Institute of Technology and a Master’s Degree in Engineering from the University of Central Florida. Currently employed at NASA, he works in the Ground Systems Development and Operations Program. Commission Williams takes an active role in community programs, having served as the Chairperson of the Cocoa Beach waterways and Wildlife Board, graduated from the Cocoa Beach Citizen’s Academy, and is a member of the Fire Department Community Emergency Response Team (CERT). His affiliations include: volunteering for Keep Brevard Beautiful; member of Christian Surfer Cocoa Beach; attends Calvary Chapel Surfside.

Commissioner Mike Miller, Seat 5 (Term expires November 2022) 

Email Commissioner Mike Miller
Elected in 2017, Commissioner Miller is originally from Dayton, Ohio, but began calling Cocoa Beach home in 2012. He is a graduate of Miami (Ohio) University and is a Registered Architect in Florida. Commissioner Miller has graduated from the Cocoa Beach Citizen’s Academy and has served as a Chairperson on the Cocoa Beach Planning Board. His affiliations include being a volunteer for SHINE (Serving Health Insurance Needs of Elders).

Contacting Our Commission

Mailing Address:

City of Cocoa Beach
P.O. Box 322430
Cocoa Beach, Florida 32932-2430

Phone: 321-868-3206 or 321-868-3201
Fax: 321-868-3226

Email all Commission Members